Fat

You shame me
for the weight, I carry around my waist

But did you ever wonder
what it feels like when you
give me disapproving looks
and when you make fatphobic comments?

Did you ever wonder how I got like this?
Did you ever bother to ask me why I eat my feelings away?

My life is in shambles and I cannot fill this
void I carry deep inside me
and sometimes food is the only thing that fills me
for a few hours.

Did you ever ask me about the medications I take,
and how it helps me fight my depression every day?
Did you ever stop to think that I rather be fat
than miserable, anxious and depressed?

Did you ask me how I weighed my options
and that I chose to take care of myself?
so even though the three little pills I take
make me gain weight
I still choose them everyday

Did you ever stop to think that maybe, just maybe,
you’re the problem?

Leave a Reply

